documentation to run tests against local or remote Podman daemon

This commit is contained in:
Michael Hoennig 2022-09-08 16:15:59 +02:00
parent 765d3c689e
commit cacfbabcfb
1 changed files with 97 additions and 2 deletions

View File

@ -22,11 +22,18 @@ For architecture consider the files in the `doc` and `adr` folder.
- [Spotless Code Formatting](#spotless-code-formatting)
- [JaCoCo Test Code Coverage Check](#jacoco-test-code-coverage-check)
- [PiTest Mutation Testing](#pitest-mutation-testing)
- [Remark](#remark)
- [OWASP Security Vulnerability Check](#owasp-security-vulnerability-check)
- [Dependency-License-Compatibility](#dependency-license-compatibility)
- [Dependency Version Upgrade](#dependency-version-upgrade)
- [How To ...](#how-to-...)
- [How to Run the Application on a Different Port ](#how-to-run-the-application-on-a-different-port-)
- [How to Run the Tests Against a Local User-Space Podman Deamon?](#how-to-run-the-tests-against-a-local-user-space-podman-deamon?)
- [Install and Run Podman](#install-and-run-podman)
- [Use the Command Line to Run the Tests Against the Podman Daemon ](#use-the-command-line-to-run-the-tests-against-the-podman-daemon-)
- [Use IntelliJ IDEA Run the Tests Against the Podman Daemon](#use-intellij-idea-run-the-tests-against-the-podman-daemon)
- [~/.testcontainers.properties](#~/.testcontainers.properties)
- [How to Run the Tests Against a Remote Podman or Docker Deamon?](#how-to-run-the-tests-against-a-remote-podman-or-docker-deamon?)
- [How to Run the Application on a Different Port?](#how-to-run-the-application-on-a-different-port?)
- [How to Use a Persistent Database for Integration Tests?](#how-to-use-a-persistent-database-for-integration-tests?)
- [How to Amend Liquibase SQL Changesets?](#how-to-amend-liquibase-sql-changesets?)
- [Further Documentation](#further-documentation)
@ -499,7 +506,95 @@ More infos, e.g. on blacklists see on the [projet's website](https://github.com/
## How To ...
### How to Run the Application on a Different Port
### How to Run the Tests Against a Local User-Space Podman Deamon?
Using a normal Docker deamon running as root has some security issues.
As an alternative, this chapter shows how you can run a Podman daemon in user-space.
#### Install and Run Podman
You can find directions in [this project on Github](https://stackoverflow.com/questions/71549856/testcontainers-with-podman-in-java-tests)
Summary for Debian-based Linux systems:
1. Install Podman, e.g. like this:
```shell
```
systemctl --user enable --now podman.socket
systemctl --user status podman.socket
ls -la /run/user/$UID/podman/podman.sock
#### Use the Command Line to Run the Tests Against the Podman Daemon
1. In a local shell. in which you want to run the tests, set some environment variables:
```shell
export DOCKER_HOST="unix:///run/user/$UID/podman/podman.sock"
export TESTCONTAINERS_RYUK_DISABLED=true
```
Disabling RYUK is necessary, because it's not supported by Podman.
Supposedly this means that containers are not properly cleaned up after test runs,
but I could not see any remaining containers after test runs.
If we are running into problems with stale containers,
we need to register a shutdown-hook in the test source code.
2. Now You Can Run the Tests
```shell
gw clean test # gw is from the .aliases file
```
#### Use IntelliJ IDEA Run the Tests Against the Podman Daemon
To run the tests against a Podman Deamon in IntelliJ IDEA too, you also need to set some environment variables.
This can either be done in the environment from which IDEA is started.
Or you can use the run config template for JUnit tests to set these variables.
Find more information [here](https://www.jetbrains.com/help/idea/run-debug-configuration.html).
#### ~/.testcontainers.properties
It should be possible to set these environment variables in `~/.testcontainers.properties`,
but it did not work so far.
Maybe a problem with quoting.
If you manage to make it work, please amend this documentation, thanks.
### How to Run the Tests Against a Remote Podman or Docker Deamon?
1. On the remote host, you need to have a Podman or Docker deamon running on a port accessible from the Internet.
Probably, you want to protect it with a VPN, but that's not part of this documentation.
e.g. to make Podman listen to a port, run this:
```shell
podman system service -t 0 tcp:HOST:PORT # please replace HOST+PORT
```
2. In a local shell. in which you want to run the tests, set some environment variables:
```shell
export DOCKER_HOST=tcp://HOST:PORT # please replace HOST+PORT again
export TESTCONTAINERS_RYUK_DISABLED=true # only for Podman
```
Regarding RYUK, see also in the directions for a locally running Podman, above.
3. Now you can run the tests:
```shell
gw clean test # gw is from the .aliases file
```
For information about how to run the tests in IntelliJ IDEA against a remote Podman deamon, see also in the chapter above just with the HOST:PORT-based DOCKER_HOST.
### How to Run the Application on a Different Port?
By default, `gw bootRun` starts the application on port 8080.